JAA Board of Directors Elects New Officers

Jacksonville Aviation Authority today elected Dr. Chester Aikens as chairman for the 2011-2012 fiscal year, which begins Oct. 1.

Aikens, a practicing dentist who was appointed to the JAA in 2007 by former Mayor John Peyton, replaces Ernie Isaac Jr. as chairman. Isaac continues to serve as a board member.

“As the Jacksonville Aviation Authority gets ready to celebrate its 10th anniversary I am honored to be selected as the next chairman,” Aikens said. “JAA has accomplished many significant milestones over the past decade. And while our business is not without challenges, I look forward to chairing the authority and working with my fellow board members and JAA staff as we continue to grow our four-airport system and provide jobs and economic stability to our region.”

The other newly elected officers include A.L. Kelly as vice chairman, Ron Weaver as secretary and Deborah Pass-Durham as treasurer.

The board is comprised of seven members. Three members are appointed by Jacksonville’s mayor while the other four are appointed by the governor of Florida. Each board member may serve two consecutive 4-year terms.


Visit our airport system websites