JAA elects new board chairman

Jacksonville Business Journal by By Sarah Mueller
September 27, 2011

Jacksonville Aviation Authority Monday elected Dr. Chester Aikens as chairman for the 2011-2012 fiscal year, which begins Oct. 1.

Aikens, a practicing dentist who was appointed to the JAA in 2007 by then Mayor John Peyton, replaces Ernie Isaac Jr. as chairman. Isaac continues to serve as a board member.

“As the Jacksonville Aviation Authority gets ready to celebrate its 10th anniversary, I am honored to be selected as the next chairman,” Aikens said. "I look forward to chairing the authority and working with my fellow board members and JAA staff as we continue to grow our four-airport system and provide jobs and economic stability to our region.”

The other newly elected officers include A.L. Kelly as vice chairman, Ron Weaver as secretary (corrected from original) and Deborah Pass-Durham as treasurer (corrected from original).

The board has seven members. Three members are appointed by Jacksonville’s mayor and the other four are appointed by the governor.

Source: http://bit.ly/nsIFYT


Visit our airport system websites